September 1941

Lately, I’ve been wanting Veronica Lake hair badly. This I can’t do, being that I have blunt bangs. The grass is always greener on the other side, right? And I need a “safer” look since I will be toting a sledgehammer and remodeling the new house 🙂 But, I can get this classic look. Anybody can really. It is great for all hair colors, eye colors, and most complexions.

Face: First, even out complexion by applying concealer where needed. I like Clinique All About Eyes Concealer. Apply a matte powder foundation such as Lancome Dual Finish Powder Foundation. Cheeks are super nude. Apply a faint dusting of a natural looking bronzer such as Rimmel Natural Bronzer in a shade closest to your skintone.

Eyes: Brows are perfectly brushed into place and filled in. I love Lancome Le Crayon Poudre Powder Pencil. It has a soft texture and a spoolie on one end. Apply a beige shadow closest to your skintone all over the eye area. A little shimmer is nice. For me, I would use Clinique Colour Surge Eye Shadow in Buff. Line eyes with a black gel liner such as Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner. Line top lashes only with a crisp line. Veronica has OTT false lashes and I love them. Apply false lashes for the “real deal” (something like Laura Mercier’s lashes) or just go for a lengthening mascara such as Urban Decay Skyscraper Multi-Benefit Mascara. Apply mascara to bottom lashes also.

Lips: Veronica had an amazing and dramatic lip line. Pat concealer around the lips to give the illusion of plump lips and to keep lipstick from bleeding. If you want a dramatic lip line, apply Lipstick Queen Lip Liner in Rose. You can slightly go around your top lip line to exaggerate if you do not have a “natural” lip line like Veronica’s. Apply a full-coverage lipstick like Lipstick Queen Sinner Lipstick in Rose. Apply a dab of a hydrating lip balm such as Smith’s Minted Rose Lip Balm to the center of your bottom lip for a pouty and plump look.

I think a spritz of Badgley Mischka is appropriate for this look. It’s a modern fragrance but it definitely Old Hollywood.

veronicalakelook