I love Melissa Flagg fragrances. Many of them are super floral and super feminine. I have tried the perfume oil roll-ons and I am impressed with their portability paired with long-wear. Since I am a sucker for solid fragrances, I was so delighted to see that the line includes solid perfumes. The texture is divine. It is rich, not greasy, harder than most. It feels just like real shea butter because the base is shea and cocoa butter. This means it is never greasy and with the warmth of your touch it evens out smoothly. It wears soft and sensual to the skin. To my surprise it wears for some time in comparison to other solids on the market, like 4/5 hours of wear. The tin is a generous size and sturdy (about the size of a Rosebud salve). And it retails for $16. I find this a steal for what you are getting.

So, I love the formula about as much as I do the perfume oil. Now to the fragrance…Hazel’s is an intoxicating tropical floral of dewy white Hawaiian gardenias. Swoon. It is a romantic fragrance that reminds me of my dream Hawaiian wedding that never happened. Or the dream Hawaiian honeymoon that never happened either. I think of it as the perfect wedding/honeymoon fragrance for a tropical location. I never had that but I can at least pretend that I did when I sniff this fragrance. This is an exotic, humid gardenia with the right amount of pretty sweetness. It is intoxicating and consuming. My husband loves it. It isn’t overly heavy even though it is a sweeter gardenia scent. At first is has a “fruity” component. But, not fruity, it’s the kind of fruitiness that is subtle and what a gardenia has naturally. It then smells of white blossoms mixed with a bit of beachy coconut. This adds some smoothness to the gardenia but it never smells like suntan lotion or like a “beach” product. Overall, this fragrance is the epitome of the tropical gardenia genre. (BTW, there is a native Hawaiian gardenia. I am not familiar with the actual aroma of this plant because it is endangered by habitat loss. Since I am unfamiliar with its aroma, I imagine and want it to smell like this solid.)

Have I mentioned that I love the rich, moisturizing, natural base?

This fragrance is a keeper just like my darling Clementine. I can not wait to give the tropical floral explosion, Mily, a try. This is the fragrance for the tropical gardenia lover, the romantic at heart, the monoi/Hawaiian fragrance lover, those in need of a Hawaiian vacation, and those that like Lucy B. Tropical Gardenia perfume roll onKai perfume oil, Antica Farmacista Ala Moana, Tocca solid parfums, and/or Moyette Paris EDP. These are available at beautyhabit.com.

native Hawaiian gardenia

