Weekly Cheap Find:

I am a fan of lip and cheek stains. In the summer these are my beauty “secrets”. I apply the same stain to both cheeks and lips and sometimes I’ll even wear mascara. It’s perfect for those icky summer days. I was skeptical of these Covergirl lip stains at first. I don’t know why. I think in my mind I thought they were too expensive for a drugstore product, about $8. This is funny. If NARS offered an $8 lip stain, I would think it was a deal. Anyways, I must confess that I am completely in love with this product despite the really poor reviews elsewhere. I love its range, application, and lasting power. And the price is right, even for a drugstore item.

First off, I have been a vandal since day one. Keep Sharpies out of sight. So, I love this marker like application. It really defines the lip line plus it is so fun. It’s like I am drawing on my lips. Avon mark made one of these lip stains years ago. It was awesome and like so many of their products discontinued in like 2 months.  Second, it comes in a wide range of colors. At first I did not get this. Well, these babies aren’t so sheer. They are sheer but they do pack more pigment than what I am used to from a lip stain. This is good, I guess. I have many friends with dark complexions that don’t do many lip stains because they don’t show. This line has a color for everyone. I just wish they would offer testers at the store (that’s the problem with all drugstore cosmetics). Third, it wears for hours and hours! I’m talking like 6 hours with no touch-ups. But, you must let it set first, just like any lip stain. The fragrance/flavor isn’t bad. It’s faintly “fruity”. And the price isn’t bad. I still haven’t been lucky enough to get them on BOGO.

I have three but my goal is to have them all because I am a lip stain freak. The first two I did not try. I was looking for a red and plum lipstain, something that looked berry kissed. I bought 425 Plum Pout. To my surprise this had lots of pigment. It looks very sheer when blotted. However, I am used to a bold lip. I like it’s reddish plum stain. It seriously looks like the inside of a plum. The other is 440 Wild Berry Wink. This is a pretty bold pure cherry red. It is sexy. I don’t mean to sound gross but it is a bloodstain red. So, it’s a “fresh” goth and vampire look. Both colors are pretty bold in comparison to my skin tone. I like them but they are a bit bright. I love the application and formula but wanted something a bit “my lips but better”. I purchased 420 Sassy Mauve. This is it. It’s a perfect mauve lipstain. It’s a perfect blend of pink and brown. It’s super natural flush of the lips. Well, at least for me.

OK, so to the complaints. Many people say that the results are not consistent with this product. I agree. It does fade with time. It’s the applicator. To be honest, there is not much product in the pen. If you want a lip stain for a bargain, you should probably purchase something larger and more liquidy. It will be from the department store but you should consider the cost per use. This Covergirl product is “portable” unlike Benetint so you are getting less product to fit into the portable pen. People do not like the finish. This is a stain. It will not provide shine or moisture. This being said lips must be healthy and not chapped. I really think Covergirl should put that as a “warning”. This product will clump on flakey lips and look awful like that makeup on that chick in Sweeny Todd. Any lip stain will do this on battered lips. Even that Avon mark one had a warning on it. I don’t remember the verbiage exactly but it was like “product will bleed if applied to chapped lips. Do not apply to peeling lips.” I have not tried this product with gloss because I find the purpose of lip stain is to look “natural” and I love its matte finish. I’m sure gloss could be added but from my makeup artist experience with lip stain, just try a balm. If you want shine, wear lip gloss and not lip stain. You can’t have it all.Words like long-wearing, moisturizing, and glossy do not go together. It is an unspoken rule.

I say this is a product to love or to hate. It all depends on expectations. If you are a lip stain fan, you may like this but these carry more pigment than what you may be used to so go a shade lighter than what you desire. If you like hyper-glossy lips then stay away from this. If you want a “base” to wear under your retro gal red lipsticks, then this stuff is perfect. It “holds” matte lipsticks. Anyways, I like it and I’m going to have to pick a few more up before this product gets discontinued. I predict it won’t be around too much longer because of the awful reviews and it’s an expensive product for Covergirl.

