OK, don’t get me started on the inappropriate marketing of this product line by Blue Q. I could write a long ass paper on why the “Miso Pretty” line is offensive. I know Blue Q can be offensive with product lines such as “Looking Good For Jesus”, “Wash Away Your Sins”, or “Total Bitch”, but those are choices that people make like religion or having a bitchy attitude. Targeting a group of people by the group they are born into, wrong.  Putting pretty, edgy girls with “Asian” things and giving it a pun using poor English grammar is well, wrong. But, anyways, I said I wouldn’t write about that. I am here to review the fragrance. I still don’t know how to take it because I see it sold at hip Japanese markets/boutiques in Seattle. Oh, well. Here’s my review:

This is a super hissy fragrance in a high alcohol body mist base. It mainly consists of “plucky peony”, cut grass, and tuberose. It’s a flirty fragrance and once it dries down, very light and fresh. It’s OK for summer. I love the actual fragrance of peonies but I haven’t found anything that is really dead on for those growing outside. This is a hissy peony, almost sneeze inducing unlike those in the garden. There isn’t a hint of powder or sour peony in this mix. Peonies play an important role in Chinese and Japanese cultures, or at least that is what wiki tells me. I love to read about plant symbolism, history, etc. Anyways. This spray is pretty straight forward. It consists of hissy flowers like peony and tuberose. But,it has a “fresh” odor from freshly cut grass note. I’m sure to make a many a people sneeze if you are sensitive to freshly cut grass. I went through a quick phase a few years ago where I craved cut grass and cut hay fragrances. This is when I picked this up. I didn’t sniff it, I just read that it contained “cut grass” and purchased it at Ulta to get a free gift. Bad move really considering that the marketing is questionable.( Hexanal and cis-3-Hexen-1-ol, any “hex” aroma compound, I was in a chemistry class and obsessed with all of these kind of fragrance compounds, I would of changed my major but I was to graduate in like less than a year. Anyways, that’s off the subject.) This has that “grassy” smell but not like an old-fashioned aldehyde but more like Demeter Grass, a wet grassy scent. This is a body mist so it doesn’t wear very long. I think it could be nice if it had less alcohol, like if this was in a solid or an EDP. This isn’t a fruity body spray or a sweet body spray. It’s a green floral. Like I’ve said, even I’m a bit sensitive to this. I find it makes me sneeze. So I would say “try before you buy” if you are interested, especially if grass bothers you. It’s OK, I like it, it’s a nice green, wet floral. If you like fresh grass scents go for it.  It retails for $9.99 and is available on blueq.com.

