Thanks to TV shows like Gossip Girl, NYC Prep, and I am sure there is something I am missing (Ricki Lake’s Charm School, haha), Bobbi Brown’s fall collection is “Ivy League”. It seems many people are obsessed with the prep school elite. Bobbi Brown is giving us the “college” aged version. Prep is in and the pun is on “ivy”. The focus is on pencils, very cute, writing=pencils. It’s a back to school color collection. It’s very neutral and contains functional, every day products.

EYES: There is a Creamy Eye Pencil in 9 colors. It’s a smoky, smudgy pencil that retails for $20. It isn’t the most exciting product that I have ever seen but I do know that it is something that would get used daily by many of us. There is the Shimmer Wash Eye Shadow in Gold Leaf. This is a pearly khaki gold highlighting shade,very pretty. There is a Metallic Eye Shadow in Bash. This is a lovely emerald green shimmer. I do love this color as an updated smoky eye. There is the Eye Shadow in Ivy, a lovely matte deep green. All shadows go for $20.The Long-Wear Eye Liner in Forest Shimmer Ink has been launched. This is a long-wearing gel liner in a pearly deep green. I love the color and the formula. It goes for $21. From my experience these deep greens look amazing on brown and hazel eyes and the very rare violet.

LIPS: There is the Lip Crayon. I love this product. I love applying lip color with a pencil. It creates definition and usually the formulas are longer wearing. This product comes in 6 shades and retails for $22. Lip pencils are usually leaning towards a matte side so The Crystal Lip Gloss has been relaunched and layered over the Lip Crayon. The gloss goes for $17.

Overall, the look is very polished and neutral. It is made “young” by the forest green smoky eye. I like the look even though I am not a fan of “prep” but at least the company has made the trend more appopriate for adults. That is my beef with the prep school stuff, a bit pedophiliac. At least this is “of age”. Anyways, this collection has some great everyday products. The green eye would look great on all hair colors, even redheads! Green eye makeup looks great on brown and hazel eyes and sometimes makes blue eyes look even cooler. Sometimes when I wear this shade it almost makes my eyes look lilac. I say if you are a redhead/brunette with brown eyes then go and try this collection or if you have a deep skintone. This is a collection for you.

