We all know that sun damage is no good. I’m not going there. If you are even reading this blog, you know that. When I lived in Tennessee and had a 4 hour commute to work daily, I was a huge fan of body lotions and hand creams that contained a SPF. I was getting tons of sun exposure just from driving, not to mention my other daily activities. I still experienced a change of color but never burned. I really hope that using a product with a SPF helped with any future damage as well. Now that I live in Washington, I only see the sun for 3 months out of the year. I no longer have a long commute. I only use these products during the summer here. The rest of the year I have a vitamin D deficiency. Docs here advise not to wear sunscreen during these “rainy” months. In the summer I’ll get my 15 minutes of sun exposure and use these moisturizers. I usually go for the cheaper ones with a SPF of 15 or lower. They do their jobs.

Bargain Body Lotions (under $20): If you want SPF, shimmer, and gradual self-tanner, try Avon Skin So Soft Satin Glow Ultimate Body Moisturizing Lotion SPF 15. It is a “do it all” product that retails for $12. Victoria’s Secret Bare Bronze Sheer Tinted Body Lotion with SPF 15 (not pictured) has a sexy bronze shimmer and warm, nutty scent. It goes for $18. Vaseline Aloe Fresh Protecting Body Lotion with SPF 15 retails for $8. It is light-weight and a bargain. I am a fan of Palmer’s products. Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Body Lotion with SPF 15 has a rich cocoa scent and rich moisturizers. It retails for $8. I mainly use Eucerin Everyday Protection Body Lotion with SPF 15. It is light-weight and fragrance free. It goes for $10. I also like Nivea Body Natural Tone Body Lotion with SPF 4 (there is also a hand cream in this line). The fragrance does not interrupt with my fragrances. It goes for $7. Aubrey Organics Unscented Body Lotion with SPF 15 is nice. There is no odor but it does need to be rubbed in a little bit more. It retails for about $13. Alba Botanica Very Emollient Daily Shade Body Lotion with SPF 16 is rich and makes the skin look younger with alpha hydroxy acids. It’s a pretty awesome product and retails for $16.

More Expensive Body Lotions: Kiehl’s Creme de Corps Light-Weight SPF 30 body lotion is very nice for summer. It is light-weight and has a higher sun protection which means that you can stay out in that summer sun longer. It retails for $26.50. Juice Beauty Green Apple SPF 20 Body Moisturizer contains fruit acids to help skin look younger while protecting skin. It retails for $29. MD Skincare Firming Body Lotion with Vitamin C and SPF 8 (not pictured) is a nice fix and protect product that goes for $42. Glytone Body Lotion with SPF 15 exfoliates skin and moisturizes it with shea butter and glycolic acid. (Probably needs a SPF so you don’t get burned). It retails for $44, but it does come in a big bottle. Clarins Bright Plus Breezy Cool Body Lotion with SPF 30 helps skin feel cool/fresh, helps with discolorations and protects. The texture and feel is very nice for summer. It retails for $40. Duwop Revolution Body Moisturizer contains tint, shimmer, and a SPF of 15. This product looks great on legs. It retails for $25 and comes in a few shades.

Hand Cream: Borghese Radiant Lightening Hand Cream contains SPF 30. This product moisturizes, help fight discolorations, and help prevent any further damage. It goes for $15. Shiseido Benefiance Protective Hand Revitalizer with SPF is a rich cream perfect for daily use. It isn’t greasy and it retails for $37. Clarins Age Control Hand Lotion with SPF 15 is very moisturizing. It does have a strong scent and retails for $30. I really like Kiehl’s Unusually Rich But Not Greasy At All Hand Lotion with SPF 10. It is what the name implies and goes for $15.50. Studio Gear Handiwork Protective & Brightening Cream with SPF 25 retails for $22.50. It’s a rich cream that helps lighten discolorations on the hands. There is Erno Lazlo Intensive Hand Cream with SPF 25. I’ve used this one and it goes for $55. It’s lightweight, so I had to apply frequently. Natura Bliss Hand Silk Cream with SPF 15. This product claims to be waterproof which is really nice since we wash our hands throughout the day. It retails for $32. Lippman Collection Rich Girl Hand & Cuticle Cream with SPF 25 hydrates, protects, and brightens without bleaching. It goes for $24.

Just because a product has a higher number doesn’t mean it is better or more efficient. I really don’t think those high number products are necessary for daily wear or at least for my lifestyle. I only get about 30-60 minutes (that’s being very liberal) of direct sun exposure daily 3 months of the year. I burn at over 30 minutes of sun exposure with no SPF. If I am going to be out for a few hours I will use a longer wearing sunscreen product. With the hand creams, I apply those throughout the day due to frequent hand washing.

Oh, geez. Our brains are going to fry here in the Northwest today. We are experiencing temps in the three digits. I have no air conditioning and I have to be out of the rental home this Friday, so I’m moving all my stuff. Ughh, SPF is the least of my worries right now!

spflotions

