This summer I have been craving anything orange blossom. This mainly includes my orange blossom fragrant floral waters mixed in iced tea or orange blossom sorbets. I have always loved orange blossom in gastronomy but for some reason have kind of ignored it when it comes to fragrance. I go in fragrance spurts and this summer I have been craving orange blossom. It is such a bitter but delicate floral. I was happy to see that Parfums des Beaux Arts by DSH has Fleurs d’Oranger du Roi. Evidently Louis XV was a mega fan of orange blossom for its “grace and lightness”. Well, I’m a mega fan too for the same reasons. Fleurs d’Oranger du Roi is one of those “true to the game” orange blossom scents. Don’t expect a complex blend with other star florals, spices, or woods. This is all about the beauty of the orange blossom. At first it is absolutely perfect and exactly what I have been craving. It smells bitter and citrusy with just a hint of floral. It smells identical to the orange blossom waters that I use in the kitchen (and I’ve been known to dump a bottle or two in the bath). It is more bitter like citrus rind than floral. It becomes more “blossomy” and less bitter after about 10-15 minutes of wear. It then becomes “pure” orange blossom. It is a soft and delicate neroli scent. It is lovely, delicate, and light. This is perfect for summer. Unfortunately, this fragrance only wore on my skin for about an hour in the summer heat. That isn’t hot lasting power for an EDP; however, I have not found an orange blossom fragrance that lasts longer than this. Some accords just do not last no matter what. These accords are mainly the “bubbly” and “light” scents such as citrus blossoms. FYI: From what I understand neroli oil and orange blossom oil are the “same” thing, meaning they come from the same source. The name is different depending on how it was extracted.

Overall, this is what I expected. I wouldn’t call it an “artful” or “creative” blend but it is so nice. It mainly resembles the Lebanese orange blossom floral waters that I use in the kitchen. However, this EDP lasts much longer than if I spritzed my skin with my waters. (I’ve tried and they last like 5 minutes). I realize that is hard to convince orange blossom to hang around until dessert. But, I also realize that orange blossom is a beautiful soliflore and it doesn’t need to be messed with to be “artful” or “creative”. It’s nice as is. This is exactly what I’ve been craving for summer and I’m happy with this fragrance.

This retails for $27 for .25 ounce EDP spray and can be purchased at beautyhabit.com. That is a tempting price point. Bonus, this line has 100% botanical fragrance and is hand-blended, hand-poured, and hand-bottled.

