Weekly Cheap Secret:

I bought this strange thing. OK, it has a name eos which stands for Evolution of Smooth. I was attracted to this product because it is 95% USDA organic and 100% natural with ingredients like shea butter and olive oil, even has honeysuckle flower extract! I needed a lip balm and thought I would try something new. (OK maybe not needed…) I’m not tired of my Rose Bud Salve, I love that stuff. I  just wanted something less glossy. I need a “balm”. I ordered this from drugstore.com for $3.99. I couldn’t really judge scale or anything from it because I have never seen this product in person before. I guess it is sold at Target and at Safeway here in the PNW.  I was tempted by the “honeysuckle” flavor claim. I wanted it to take me back to my childhood when sucking the nectar out of honeysuckle blossoms was the best treat ever. Well, this is the “smooth sphere” so what I got was a strange melon green sphere thing the size of a small chicken or quail egg with a twist off top. Unfortunately mine looks dirty because it rolled around and got grimy in the drugstore.com box. Inside is a lip balm, like the size of a small quail egg. It’s huge and you just apply it like you would a tube lip balm. I have a big mouth and one swipe and I’m done. It reminds me of those old school and huge Lip Smackers. One swipe of those and I was done too. I think when it gets flat, I can just use my fingers to get it out. I don’t know yet. The fragrance is more honeydew melon and not honeysuckle.  It’s a fresh and very sweet honeydew melon that doesn’t smell “fake” like a Lip Smackers 🙂 Really the odor is very faint and not offensive, I just wish it was more floral. However, the flavor is sweet like honeysuckle. Not the type of floral sweet found in honeysuckle but more like the sweet “honey”/nectar found in a honeysuckle. I really don’t “smell” it but I taste it. The balm is smooth, not sticky. I like the way it feels. It is a good lip balm, not too thick or waxy but not too thin or overly slippery. Unfortunately it doesn’t wear very long and I find that I have to reapply very, very frequently. It’s not a bad product, my only complaint is the lasting power. . Mainly I like the strange shape which reminds me of a Kinder Egg with a lip balmy surprise. The sphere also comes in Summer Fruit and Sweet Mint. eos also sells from their website. They also sell a shaving cream and lip balm in a stick form.

