What do you know? I purchased jeans on-line again and I am disappointed. I am a huge fan of Levi’s. Many of their products have been of the highest quality and have a nice fit.  I have a few pairs and have sworn to only purchase Levi’s from now on because I love the pairs that I have so much. I was so super siked when I found the Re-Issued Vintage denim on Levi’s website. I am a huge fan of vintage. I’m a huge fan of Levi’s. And I’m a huge fan of vintage Levi’s. Match made in heaven? I purchased the 1966 Skinny Jeans pictured above and the 1974 Bell Bottoms pictured below. Both retail for $49.50. There were what I needed, I thought. I misunderstood somewhat. These are “based” on the Orange Tag denim of the 60’s and 70’s, so I got “based on a true story” ripped. But, they claim to be an “authentic reissue” based on the company website. No way, these are nothing like I’ve had before. In the past (and my super thin teen days), I had a pair of early 60’s jeans and a pair of early 50’s Levi’s. Amazing stuff, thick, sturdy, and went over my belly button. This is what I wanted again. I am a classy, vintage loving lady. No more low riding jeans, please! High waisted pants are much more flattering on me. Both of these jeans claim to be “hi-rise”, sounds good. Hi-rise is supposed to sit just below your natural waist, belly button I take it. Nope! The 1966 “model” sets 4.5 inches from my belly button and the 1974 bells set 3 inches. This isn’t very hi-rise. I mean my Levi’s 526 jeans are 2 inches from the belly button!

The washes are dark. I got the “Rachel” in both, made to look dark and like rigid denim, you know thick stuff. It is “Italian denim”, whatever that is. This stuff isn’t “rugged”. It is strangely shiny and super thin denim. It looks like “novelty” denim that you would get from somewhere like Forever 21. I imagine that instead of looking better with time through multiple washes that it would look worse, perhaps even piling. I was really disappointed by the poor feel of the denim. It did have some stretch if you like that. But, you could definitely tell it was “stretchy” because it looks a bit shiny and spandex-y.

Now on to my other complaints (as if the crappy denim and too low waist line wasn’t enough). The length is outrageous! I was going to have to pay like $50 to get these hemmed. Maybe I should disclose my size to you. I’m not too big, an 8 and 5 foot 9 inches. I’m tall. I wear heels on top of that. These were so long. They claim to be 34 inch inseam. When I measured both of the inseams, they are 36 inches! That is so long. I had the bells on with 4 inch Via Spiga wooden platforms and I was still stepping on about 2 inches of fabric. You may need a 36 inch inseam and that is fine but to have that as the only option is insane!

And the jeans do not have the Levi’s logo on the waist! And the pockets are stupid looking, too; large and make the butt look dumpy and pear like.

Also, my order did not come with an invoice or a RS label! Just a silly ad for Docker’s! That’s right, Docker’s. I had to call the company and it is going to cost me 7 bucks to return these. I knew that, that is their return policy but should I have really recieved a package without those essential items?

So, another lesson learned. These are not for me. The 1966 Skinny was not good looking on me. Nothing special about it all. Their other “skinny” jeans look much better. The 1974 was an OK cut if you could ignore the length. It did have a crease plus amble and roomy bells. I would imagine that if you were 6 feet tall and smaller than a 4 and all legs (no hips), then you could wear these. But, if that is you, then you’ll look good in anything!

