So first things first. I am not a fan of aquatic fragrances. I find them too synthetic, fake, and they “burn” my senses. I can handle a “saltwater” accord here and there but I typically despise scents that are souly aquatic. For some reason I have all the products available in Sea Island Cotton from Bath and Body Works. I don’t know why, oh, stupid gifts that I couldn’t return. I use them anyways. I hate to waste.

This scent is described as “ a clean scent, inspired by pure white cotton flowing in fresh ocean air”. That is quite strange. Didn’t Bath and Body Works think about how odd that sounds? Don’t they understand that beach real estate is far too expensive for cotton plantations these days? Or is the cotton supposed to be like lava? I don’t get it. Anyways, this scent is slightly aquatic in a wet detergent way and it is “fresh” in a Downy fabric softener way. Plus lots of floral notes and clean, white musks. It isn’t an offensive fragrance. I just don’t love it enough to go out and purchase it myself but I don’t mind using it.

It is strange how each product in the line smells different. I suppose they all “work” together since B&BW is all about the excessive layering of products to sell more and more to ladies.

The body cream is very laundry powders. It smells like warm linens, but not in a good way. More like somebody added baby powder to the wash. It is strange, warm, and just straight up washing powders and baby powder. It is my least favorite “scent” in the collection. It is too baby-ish and powdery.  At least the lotion is very moisturizing and absorbs quickly.The scent from the lotion doesn’t hang around too long and is pretty faint all day.

The body spray is better than the body cream. It does present a sense of freshness that isn’t the type of freshness like a room spray that is meant to cover something stinky up. It all the laundry detergent and ocean accords but with a bit more “fresh” flowers. It is a hint of freesia and other hissy florals. The dry down is classic white musk. It isn’t very special but to be honest I do like it better than most of the fragrances Clean has to offer (and those are much more expensive). This fragrance only lasts like 10 minutes since it is a body spray.

The creamy body wash lathers nicely and a little goes a long way. It smells much more “clean cotton” than the body cream or spray. It is warm, cuddly and very fresh towels just out of the dryer. It is comforting and clean. I kind of like it because it reminds me of a cheap but discontinued brand Smell This in Fresh Towels. I wish the entire collection smelled like the creamy body wash.  But, it is a soap and maybe I expect for a soap to well, smell like detergent. It is a nice product but I know I won’t purchase it again unless it is on sale. It is hard to pay for a shower gel that costs $10.50 just to get that low-brow Downy fresh fragrance. However, it has an excellent lather.

I could see people liking this if they are a fan of the “detergent”/clean fragrances such as mark Pure, Demeter Laundromat, Clean fragrances such as Fresh Laundry, even Philosophy Amazing Grace/Pure Grace, J.Lo Glow, Marc Jacobs Cotton, GAP Washed Cotton, or if you like white/clean musk fragrances. Suprisingly, this fragrance appears “heavier” than others like it on the market. It isn’t so hissy, it is more “warm” but still “aquatic”.

