Seriously, if you want to pick up hippie guys wear this. This stuff is a hippie magnet. That being said unless you dig guys with braids that wear bandanas in their hair and wear Birkenstocks, don’t wear this to any outdoor festivals , food Co-ops, or “ethnic” import home furnishing stores. Well, I guess if you don’t want to attract hippies, then don’t go to those places anyways 🙂

To my surprise, this scent is marketed to men. I didn’t know that. I smelled it and thought “woody gourmand”, something in the Angel category. I kind of liked it for the winter, because unlike Angel, it isn’t as sweet. When I realized that it was marketed for men, I was bit shocked. There is nothing in this scent that smells like it is for men and there is nothing in that says it is not for ladies. It should of been marketed as a unisex scent. But, then again maybe Fresh is trying to pull some kind of shock value trick where women that wear this feel scandalous and edgy for wearing a men’s scent. That could easily be it since I feel they are trying to be scandalous with the name alone. Anyways, the scent isn’t very unusual. If you are the type that wears oils from the headshop then this is nothing new. It is woodsy and long-wearing. It smells pretty heavily of patchouli and sandalwood. However, it doesn’t have that much of a “dirty”, “earthy” vibe because it is calmed down/dolled up with sweet synthetic musk, chocolate, and vanilla. This is what makes “normal” ladies like this. You know the ladies that wouldn’t touch patchouli oil with a 10 foot pole? Don’t take me wrong. This is sweet but this is not Angel or any other popular gourmand. This isn’t a Bath and Body Works Aromatherapy mix. This mearly smells like if you wore Angel body butter or lotion with patchouli oil on your pulse points. It is a friendly headshop fragrance. It is an expensive headshop fragrance for $75 for 3.4 ounces. There is also the faintest and weakest hint of rose. Overall, the scent smells of a sweet sandalwood and woodsy but not gritty patchouli blend. It is pretty, but not very interesting. It wears for hours and very closely to the skin.

Before I knew it was marketed for dudes, I asked my husband, a die hard patchouli addict to wear this, he said he wouldn’t and he also he declared that it was “shit that some middle age Pier 1 ‘hippie’ yoga mom would wear” and that he was keeping to his “roots”. I didn’t think so harshly of the scent. I spritzed it on and then went to Whole Foods where every 40 something guy in a spandex road biking leotard carrying gluten-free rolls commented on my “intoxicating” aroma. I then went home, creeped out, scrubbed my pulse points and never wore this stuff again. You should wear underpants with your leotards. I now use it as a room freshener.

