weekly cheap secret, maybe?

My lesson: You get what you pay for. This isn’t a horrible product, it is just isn’t as good as other products on the market such as Clarins or Vichy.

I am a cellulite cream addict. Not because I really need it, but because I like the “firming” feelings. I have used so many in the past. They all “work”, temporarily that is. They all mainly tighten and firm or make the skin tingle for 5 minutes to try to convince you that it works. But, these creams do work. They stop working once you stop using them. So I am a fan of these creams especially if you know you are going on a bikini wearing vacation, etc. But, I don’t have moon craters or an extreme case of cellulite. I’m just jiggly and use these creams to firm the skin a little bit.

Anyways, I thought I would give a drugstore brand a try since Lancome, Clarins, Vichy, Estee Lauder, and all that jazz can be expensive. St.Ives Cellulite Gel Creme retails for $8 for 6.7 ounces. It has a nice texture: a gel creme. It is light and refreshing. It feels almost like a silicone based hair serum but it is not greasy and is super fast absorbing. It almost absorbs like a powder. It has a fruity citrus fragrance that isn’t offensive and doesn’t hang around. It just smells fresh. It contains many of the ingredients of the more expensive creams: green tea, caffeine, citrus extracts, menthol, etc. It has a nice texture and an OK fragrance. It claims that you “can feel it working”, I assume this must mean that it tingles. I haven’t had that at all. I’m used to my industrial strength products that “tingle” the cellulite demons out of your skin. So, for me it doesn’t burn, tingle, any of that. I don’t have a problem with that. My beef is that I haven’t seen a difference. I mean, I feel no firming at all. I can skip an application without noticing any negative effects. This is just a lightweight toning lotion in my opinion. That Jergen’s firming lotion does the same as this except it is heavier. This is lightweight and may make a nice “lotion” for the entire body in the summer. It isn’t’ a horrible product it is just an extremely “mild” product in contrast to what I usually use. It may work for you. I find that these products are like lip plumpers, everybody has their favorite.

I know I could live without cellulite creams at all. I don’t really need them. We all know that diet and exercise and being skinny is what really diminishes cellulite. We also know that we can be more prone to it because of heredity just like stretch marks. I also know, from doing makeup for photoshoots that skinny bitches has a few body dimples as well. No cream is going to rid these flaws. I just like the temporary firming feeling. Nobody really sees my body. I do it for myself. And I like to waste money on stupid things…

