Weekly Cheap Secret:

It took me a long time to get on the mineral makeup bandwagon since makeup is made of “minerals” anyways. I was constantly drawn into every Bare Escentuals infomercial ever. I didn’t even wear foundation or really needed but I wanted to feel good about swirling something on my face. Those infomercials did a great job because I felt like I was doing my face a disservice by not using the products. So I got my hands on a sample and used it for a week and I really wasn’t impressed. I found that it clumped to any of my dry patches or to any patches where my day cream was applied a little heavier. In the middle of the day I was oilier than if I used no products at all. And by the end of the day, it was gone. But, anyways this isn’t a review about that.But, I want you to know that I have tried the big name in mineral makeup.

Years passed and I got bit by the mineral hype again. This time I purchased Maybelline Mineral Power Powder Foundation because it was cheap. Oh and I had a coupon. I purchased Nude which is much darker than I had imagined. I am not wild about the mini kabuki brush that is included. I now use it for cleaning wild mushrooms. I used my NARS kabuki/bronzer brush with it. It applies very smooth and nice with the tap and swirl method. It provides much more coverage than Bare Escentuals. This doesn’t mean it is “too” much at first but it has potential to really build. You can apply more where you need and it still looks natural, no clumping. The bonus is that the coverage is even and wears like that all day sans primer! I’m kind of happy I have the darker shade because it makes a great bronzer alternative. Since it is so easy to blend I can blend it down the jaw and it works. If I want it lighter I just mix in some lighter loose powder and apply. I do not use a powder with this product usually because shine is not an issue. I do like a dewy look. That is my one complaint (other than the brush), I feel the powder doesn’t look luminous enough and that is what the company is using to sell the item. It does have a tendency to accentuate some lines because of the “luminous” minerals. It looks a bit dry-ish. Just look at the models for the line, it looks like that on the skin. Luckily with my own oils that come out throughout the day, the foundation keeps from looking too flat and one dimensional. My skin actually responds positively to this foundation. No break-outs and it actually looks better, even with foundation off. My skin looks healthy. I finally feel like I have found what works with my skin. I still use concealer under my eyes if needed. I need to add that I have pretty happy skin that is on the normal to dry end of the spectrum. I have some discolorations and baby the hell out of my skin. No line issues since I am in my mid-20’s. The powder is a bit messy and I do not apply it while wearing my clothes. I get foundation all over my tops. I apply it over the sink so I just wipe it down after application. This is an issue with all loose powder foundations. And I am sure that it doesn’t help that I am using a full-size kabuki brush and not the little mini brush that is included with the foundation.

There are nine shades, not that much of a variety. It is a bit hard to find that “perfect” match. But, you can find a close one and make it work or purchase two and mix them. There are many more choices in the Light category (4) than in Dark (1). I purchased Light 4 Nude. It is a bit on the orangey bronze side. The other options looked too cool in the packaging so I went for the warmest and it is really warm. It really works well in the summer when my skin accidentally gets some color. I kind of like it because when I use I don’t have to apply a bronzer. I want simplicity in the summer! It is a good price at about $8.00 (depending where you shop) for .28 ounces. (Bare Escentuals is $25 for .3 ounces). I wish I could get it without the brush for like $5. The packaging is simple and easy to use. Overall, I will keep using it whenever I feel like wearing foundation. Why should I flirt with other mineral brands if I found something I like? And it is cheap.

