I am a sucker for body treatment products. I fall for anything that claims to tighten, firm, or perform miracles to the skin. Luckily, I haven’t been burnt by a product, well, until now. I have found that cellulite creams and firming gels really do improve the appearance of my skin (yes, temporarily) and I like the way they make my skin feel. I’m the kind of person that loves to wear control tights and feel pressure on my body. Yep, a bit of a sensory deficit and a bit on the spectrum and falling a bit off the neuro-typical line… Anyways, I have tried so many products and I have repurchased so many products. Maybe they don’t work, I just know that I am in love with the claims . I like most of Clarins products. I have had a few friends rave over the treatment oil. I thought I would give it a try even though I promised the husband I would no longer anoint my body in apricot kernel oil because I left grease spots everywhere like a Sphynx cat. My friends claimed of shedding excess water weight, having super smooth legs, blah, blah, blah. The Anti-Eau oil claims to “slim” by ridding the body of quite frankly, water weight. It is supposed to make the legs feel lighter and get rid of “sponginess”. It contains essential oils of marjoram, broom, geranium, lemon, and orange all in a fatty hazelnut oil base. The oil is a oil and needs to be applied to damp skin and rubbed in. A little goes a long way. It smells very herbaceous and like an herb garden or the spice rack. It smells mainly of citrus zest and marjoram in my opinion. I like the smell. It is very invigorating and really adds to the “spa” like experience of this expensive French product. (3.4 ounces retails for $50). I have been using this product nightly for months doing all of the goofy massages, etc. I use a Lancome cellulite gel in the morning. So far I haven’t noticed anything from the oil other than I smell really nice like summertime gardens and have really smooth skin. My skin is smooth because I am soaking in oil again. That does wonders for dry skin. But, feeling “lighter” and not puffy, nope. My gels do more. They are instant and temporary. This oil just proves that you can believe in something but that doesn’t mean it will work. Or that you are buying the wrong product because what the hell is water weight anyways? I won’t be repurchasing and I will have to break the pact with the hubby. I’m adding lavender oil to a bottle of apricot kernel oil and there is nothing he can do about it.

