Weekly Cheap Secret: This is the first L’Oreal HIP product that I have purchased. I’ve been drawn to it because most drugstore items that claim to have tons of pigment don’t have it. Plus, the ads for this line are a bit cheezy and I always think the models would look better without the makeup. I love loud colors and tons of pigment but something about the application in the ads rubs me the wrong way. It is trying too hard and comes across and crude and brash. Anyways, I stumbled across this item. I was looking for a nice gold and I thought for $6 I’ll gamble. I got this stuff home and loved it. The gold in Gilded is a pure, super pigmented antique gold, so it is a gold with some dirty brown shimmer. It is thick and packs a punch. It looks great under shades and mixed with deep eggplants and rusts and even a matte chocolate brown. The other color isn’t too bad. It is a sooty black with lots of gold sparkled. It looks nice applied wet like a cake eyeliner. It has a nice shimmer. I have worn these two shades together and I wasn’t crazy about it. I felt their textures together wasn’t the best. It looked OK. It just looked like gold smoke. The black makes for a nice smoky eye mixed with bronzes and warm browns. The black doesn’t pack as much pigment as the gold. I just wanted to add that. I’m not disappointed, especially for the price. I’ve bought shadows from MAC that provided less pigment and wouldn’t blend as well. (Yes, I’m calling you out Electric Eel!) I’m very curious about some of the other shades, especially the purples and a few wines. I would love to try a few more.

Smeared on my hand.

Smeared on my hand.

