Maybe it is because I am a closet goth. But, I love the cool toned grapey purple lip look. I love a matte purple with really minimal eye makeup. I love the blue-ish tinted lip whitening sheer violet lip glosses with loud pink eyes. I love a purple hued lip stain with warm, coral eyes. I love it all. But, seriously, this is a difficult shade to wear and a difficult shade to find. It is so frustrating. So that is why I am sharing what I have found with you.

Lipstick: I love a purple lipstick look with minimal eye makeup. That bare even, mascara less look, if the purple is deep enough. I also like it in an 80’s way if the eyes are done a nice, light baby pink with a medium toned purple lip. I have even mixed an almost white purple lipstick for myself to wear with dark, dark eyes. I looked a bit dead but hey, I’ll try anything in the name of fashion. I find that when I find a purple I like, I better buy it because chances are it won’t be around long. Rimmel made an amazing one. It was truly deep and purple but it was amazing because it had lots of silver shimmer. I bought like 10 tubes, which was good because I have never seen it since. It was like I purchased what all the company had. Dior used to have an amazing one too, but it is no more. Even MAC is lacking in this area. However, MAC has two deeper ones that I like. Cyber is a lovely almost black purple but it is very difficult to work with. It is a satin finish which is stupid. It is very difficult to keep uniformed even with foundation on the lips. It wants to gather in certain areas. Your lips have to be flawless and baby bottom soft for it to wear evenly too. But man, once you get it to work it looks amazing. I also like Rebel which is a more on the berry side or purple. It looks nice with that nude eye makeup look. NYX has a pretty good purple selection. They have in their Black Label the shade Seductive which is a medium purple. They have a super shimmery shade in the Diamond Sparkle Lipstick, Sparkling Orchid. This one is a bit to berry pink on me but if you put a black gloss over it, it looks amazing. In their classic formula they have a few nice shades: Orpheus which is a muted grape, Pandora which is a flashy magenta violet, and Iced Lavender which is a super pale and shimmery purple that looks great over other shades. NYX has a great Lipstick Pencil in Vixen which is a deep, dark and gothic purple. Manic Panic has a few goth friendly shades in Black Rose which is a deep, deep purple berry matte and Tramp which is a medium purple matte. Since these are matte, the lips must be very smooth. They have a beautiful pearly purple in Plum Passion. Black Radiance has two nice Perfect Tone Lipsticks in Go Girl Grape which is a grape Kool-Aid and Majesty which is more of a berry kissed plum. Sometimes Sephora brand gets nice pure purple shades. Currently they have Lip Attitue Star in Audaciaous Violet and Plum Vertigo (what is so glam about vertigo anyways?) Victoria’s Secret has an easy to wear pink purple in their Perfect Lipstick in Stiletto. I call it the “work” purple.

Lip Gloss: MAC has a Lipgelee in Moistly which really isn’t much of a purple, but more of a berry. It is very sheer and looks nice with rust eye makeup. NYX has a Sheer Gloss in Lavender Note which is a pale lavender shimmer. It wears nicely over pinks. There are two nice NYX Mega Shine Lip Gloss in Purple Rain a lovely pure purple and Orchid which is another one of those berry, fuchsia hybrids. There is a NYX Sheer Tube Lip Gloss in Lilac which reminds me of MAC’s Moistly. Black Radiance has a nice sheer lipstick in Vogue Vixen but because of my pale skin and the fact that this is sheer it looks a little too pink on me. Stila has a Lip Glaze in Black Cherry this is a bright orchid purple fuchsia shade. Shu Uemura has an amazing Gloss Unlimited Lip Gloss in PR 059 N, it is a deep and shimmery royal purple. It looks amazing alone or layered over those pinkish purple lipsticks to make them more purpley. Shu Uemura also has a super sheer lip gloss glaze in the Gloss Lacquer in Irrational Purple. It is just a hint of purple and looks nice with deep, dark eyes.

Lip Pencil: MAC has an OK Lip Pencil in Magenta which is a vivid pinkish purple. It looks nice colored in the entire lip with a frosty pinkish gloss over it. NYX has the Long Pencil in Deep Purple and the Slim Pencil in Deep Purple and Purple Rain. These are my favorite and the most budget friendly. Manic Panic has two nice lip pencils in Deadly Nightshade which is a deep and dark purple and Ultra Violet which is a vivid purple. Max Factor has a High Definition Lipliner in Purple. I also find that a cheap little eyeliner does the same thing.

Purple lips are hard to find and you ever find one please let me know. I usually find them in cheaper brands (NYX, Wet N Wild), brands made for woman of “color” (Black Radiance, Iman, Fashion Fair) and sometimes super high end French makeup will launch one (Dior, YSL, Guerlain.) It’s weird. I just really want a super dark purple lipstick dipped in tons of gold shimmer. And I can’t find it!

