If you like the warmth and softness of amber scents, you are bound to love L’Artisan Parfumeur L’Eau d’Ambre eau de toilette. It is a very simple amber fragrance. The L’Artisan Parfumeur website says:

A formula that blends the most precious materials used by perfumers – balm and amber. A soft, rounded, mysterious, Oriental tale from the pages of “A Thousand and One Nights.”

Amber is just a soft milky amber scent. The initial spritz is a bit sharp because it has geranium in it. This quickly fades and leaves a warm, resiny, incense but not smoky amber, patchouli, and a bit of vanilla mix. It is a lovely fragrance that is warm and inviting. My husband wears amber resin smeared on his skin and this scent reminds me of him. It is very “snuggley”. I used to wear a lot amber scents and amber resin too but I grew out of it. When smelling this again, it reminded me of why I love this intoxicating fragrance. This scent wears closely to the skin like most amber scents. Amber seems to become apart of the skin. It was meant to be worn. What I am surprised about is that this fragrance is long wearing. It is an EDT that lasted on my skin the next day. The blotter card held the scent strongly for a week. It dries down to a pure, rich, succulent amber with a dash of vanilla for softness. Or the “roundness” the company uses to describe it. It is very basic and simple. If you like “oriental” fragrances, you should give this a try. I really like it. Will I purchase it? Most likely no. It is lovely and warm and perfect for autumn but I find that I love my amber resin just as much. (It is a lot cheaper too.) I am impressed that this juice conjures up so much of that rocky, resiny part of amber and not that strange liquid amber that many perfume oils have. This product retails for $95 for the 50ml, $135 for the 100ml, body cream is $65, shower gel is $45, large candle is $60 and the small is $20. It would make a lovely home fragrance since it is so warm, inviting and cozy. You can purchase it at barneys.com or lartisanparfumeur.com.

One of my favorite prints, based on 1,000 Nights by Vargas.

One of my favorite prints, based on 1,001 Nights by Vargas.

