My husband bought me L’Aromarine Mousse de Chêne aka Oakmoss fragrance oil not to long ago. I really didn’t know what to expect because oakmoss is a popular note that I thought I never smelled in isolation before but knew it in dry downs. I have been very pleased by this fragrance and I love it.

I have reviewed L’Aromarine Jasmin in a previous post. L’Aromarine fragrances are very potent fragrance oils that have a nice price tag. Oakmoss is not as potent as Jasmin but it is still a very long wearing oil. The picture above is that of the EDT spray. I have the fragrance oil and use it as is and love it. I am sure the EDT is wonderful too.

When I first applied Oakmoss I was surprised by its complexity. All I could think of were the old forest floors found here in the Pacific Northwest. I love it because it was reminding me of this new stage in my life, I’ve very recently moved and this was the smell that I would use to define this area. It is earthy, woody, crisp, and somehow very fresh. It is very chypre and rustic. This fragrance oil wears for hours. I mean all day without reapplying. I get complements on it all the time. When I first saw the bottle and read the name I thought it was going to go to my husband’s collection. I feared it would be too masculine but it isn’t. It really works with my chemistry. It is unlike anything that I own and that is saying alot because I have alot.

Anyways, this fragrance made me curious. Why did I associate this with the PacNW so much? Well, I looked it up and it is because, duh, oakmoss is the lichen that really takes a like’n to this area. It is all over the forest floors being crunched under your footsteps. You can’t walk two feet in a PacNW forest without stepping all over it and releasing its woodsy aroma. So yesterday I went to a local park and collected many different specimens of oakmoss which I found near a lot of different conifers. I smelled them and they were all dead on this L’Aromarine Oakmoss. They weren’t as strong as L’Aromarine, I don’t know if anything is as strong as L’Aromarine, but L’Aromarine Oakmoss is the forest floor times ten. It’s amazing. Oakmoss that takes a liking to pine has a special turpentine aromatic quality. It does smell different and is used in many men’s fragrances. L’Aromarine Oakmoss is not the oakmoss from pine. I do not pick up this turpentine aroma. I assume that since the L’Aromarine buys some of their fragrance oils from Grasse that this Oakmoss comes from that region since Grasse is a big producer of commercial oakmoss used in perfumery.

So, L’Aromarine is an intoxicating and very pleasant, high-quality parfum oil. I am so happy that my husband chose this fragrance for me. This is one fungi that I can’t live without.

You can purchase this fragrance from beautyhabit.com or smallflower.com or just google it online. Prices vary but it is always a great deal.

This is it. Im sure many of you have seen it. Just look for the fungus that looks like antlers.

This is it. I'm sure many of you have seen it. Just look for the fungus that looks like antlers.

