This isn't your ex-boyfriend's Firebird.

Almost a recession really brings out some funny trends. I have talked about this before in my Dior Dandy Color Collection review. I feel the 70’s are back because of the economic woes. Here is further proof of 2008’s 1970’s fascination.

Fresh, the hip cult classic cosmetic line, has launched their Firebird Mascara which is a basic volumizing mascara that some how manages to have something to do with the 1970’s. It comes in a shiny peacock blue packaging with golden bronze leaves or maybe it is feathers? designs. I do like the packaging. The name makes me laugh. I want to think it is more of the mythical firebird than the car but who knows. Maybe they are talking about the Gibson guitar.  Sephora’s website states,

“Fresh Firebird Mascara creates stunningly full, fluffy lashes for an alluring, feathery look. Its uniquely shaped brush and ultra-black formula delivers the gorgeous and lush feathered look of the 70s. In just one stroke of the wand, lashes are instantly curled. It’s truly magical!”

OK, whatever. I don’t remember lashes looking so sexy in the 70’s and if they were feathery it was because they were false lashes. Plus if mascara was so awesome in this mythical super hip 1970 land wouldn’t that formula be the best seller. If 1970’s mascara is so great then why is everybody buying new 2008 formulas of mascara all the time. And the only “feathery” look in the 70’s includes the haircuts of the dudes that raced Firebirds around town.

If only theyd make a mascara inspired by the sexiness of this car. But your lashes arent sexy. It isnt 1970 yet.

"If only they'd make a mascara inspired by the sexiness of this car." "But your lashes aren't sexy. It isn't 1970 yet."

Anyways, this stuff is enhanced with some kind of algae, vitamin B5, and seabuckthorn oil. Looks like I’ll have to wiki “seabuckthorn” oil. I have no idea why that is supposed to be so great. The mascara comes in a jet black and sells for $26.

So there is a mascara inspired by me now. Groovy.

So there is a mascara inspired by me now. Groovy.

