OK, so the look is really 80’s, for some reason Shiseido has really been into that lately. I think it is fun but I know this collection isn’t for everyone. Plus, I lived through the 80’s to idolize this type of makeup worn by my hero, Jem. I lived through it but not like my mother did who cringes everytime she sees purple frosty shadow. Not everyone wants to be a monochrome berry. I understand that. Regardless, Shiseido is a wonderful makeup line that offers a lot of amazing products.

EYES: Eye Shadow Quads are featured in Rose Tones which is what the model is wearing and Wood Tones. These are powder eyeshadows. I haven’t had the best luck with these. I find them a little to “powdery”. Some of the colors are chock full of pigment and the others are lacking. Just because these don’t work for me doesn’t mean they won’t work for everyone. Rose Tones features shimmery nudes, plums and violets. Wood Tones features shimmery browns and golds. These retail for $35.

CHEEKS & LIPS: Accentuating Color Stick – I have wrote about these in a previous post about cream blush sticks. This is one of my favorite cream blush formulas. It dries to a powdery finish, feels lightweight and is so easy to blend. The color that is the star of this collection is Champagne Flush which is a lovely pale pink nude shimmer highlighter. It looks great on the face, eyes and lips. Sells for $32. I love it so much I bought one. The Accentuating Powder Blush is an OK formula in my book. I find it very sheer and great for those a little timid of cheek color. I’m not timid, so I haven’t went nuts for these. The color that is the “showstopper” is Playful Pink which is a medium pink shade.  This goes for $28. They’ve relaunched the Automatic Lip Crayon. I love this stuff. It is well, a crayon, but it never needs sharpened like other lip crayons because it is automatic. It is glossy, smooth and lasts a long time. It can be used as a liner and lip color. You’ll always have a lip color and lip liner that match! The colors are Chic Rose, Red Lady, Pale Violet, Ripe Deep Berry, and Terracotta. My favorites are Red Lady, a true classic red, and Ripe Deep Berry which is a deep, ripe berry just like its name states. These retail for $22. The Lip Gloss shades that are featured are Mellow Gold, a sheer pale gold shimmer,  and Polished Pearl, a pale pearly white shimmer,  to add dimension to the lips. I love Shiseido lip glosses because they are so true to color and wear a long time. This means that they are thick by some people’s standards. These go for $20.50.

FACE: Shiseido has introduced Perfect Smoothing Compact Foundation, personally, I have not tried this because it isn’t designed for my needs. I use Shiseido foundation daily and love their products. This foundation comes in a compact. It provides medium coverage for drier skin types. It has an SPF 15 and micro powders to smooth skin. It feels really great, but was too heavy for me to give a try. It retails for $30 and the case is sold separately.  The case is $9. They have relaunched the Multi-Shade Enhancer Powder. It sells for $25 and the case for $7.50. It provides  a soft shimmery bronze.

Overall, the color collection really smacks the color onto lips and eyes. The colors are very berry. The shimmer adds softness to the lips, cheeks, etc. I like it, I don’t love it. It’s a very “cool” tone collection and not for everyone. I love their Hydro-Powder Eye Shadow which they have left out of this collection. I’ll have to review those soon.

Fall 2008 Jem Color Collection

Fall 2008 Jem Color Collection

